(Posted Fri. Feb 10th, 2012)

Feb. 10:  The National Corn Growers Association’s Grower Services Action Team met in Kissimmee, Fla., this week to review programs under its jurisdiction related to membership, leadership and communications. The meeting followed the biennial Membership Symposium in which association and staff from around the Corn Belt talked about ways to recruit, retain and engage grower members.


“We had a terrific set of meetings this week at a great time to celebrate record membership for NCGA, record program participation, record state corn checkoff investments and, in a few weeks, a Commodity Classic convention and trade show that also will be a record-breaker,” said Brandon Hunnicutt, chairman of the Grower Services Action Team. “We’re looking forward to some great new member benefits rolling out shortly and doing all we can to make our programs better than ever before, building leaders and communicating the importance of corn and American agriculture to audiences nationwide.”


Participants got a first-hand look at a local phosphate fertilizer mine and how these mines are reclaimed for various uses, such as estuaries, pasture land, orange groves or other ag uses. The Hookers Prairie mine toured by the team (click here for photos) has the capacity to produce 2 million tons of phosphate each year.


“We were really impressed to see their dedication to producing important crop nutrients, and the great efforts Mosaic go through to restore land and provide even more benefits for the local community,” Hunnicutt said. “We talked about fertilizer supply and demand, and got their perspective on burdensome regulations we all must deal with from the federal government.”


Meeting attendees included: GSAT Chairman Brandon Hunnicutt, Nebraska; Vice Chairman Bill Berg, Ohio; Corn Board Liaison Bill Chase, South Dakota; Tom Durand, Michigan; Roscoe Eggers, Iowa; Lori Feltis, Minnesota; Tom Haag, Minnesota; Kent Kleinschmidt, Illinois; Jim Rapp, Illinois; Herb Ringel, Indiana; Randy Woodruff, Wisconsin; Cindy McDonald, South Dakota Corn Growers Association; and NCGA staff including Tim Brackman, Joe Hodes, Vickie Darland and Ken Colombini.