JULY 2012


(Posted Fri. Jul 13th, 2012)

July 13:  Next week, delegates attending the National Corn Growers Association Corn Congress in Washington will elect five farmers to serve on the organization’s Corn Board.  Taking office on Oct. 1, the start of NCGA’s 2013 fiscal year, the leaders selected will help shape the policies that guide the organization and will best serve corn farmers across the United States.


Corn Board Candidates for 2013 are Keith Alverson, Chester, S.D.; Anthony Bush, Mt. Gilead, Ohio; Don Elsbernd, Potsville, Iowa; Mike Geske, Matthews, Mo; Gary Schmalshof, Adair, Ill.; and Kevin Skunes, Arthur, N.D. The four new members receiving the most votes will serve three-year terms, while the candidate elected to the board receiving the fewest votes will serve a two-year term beginning the same day.


“NCGA has historically been blessed with a large pool of quality, skilled candidates willing to serve their fellow farmers by stepping into an active leadership role, and this year proves no exception,” said NCGA President Garry Niemeyer. “The candidates’ willingness to dedicate this amount of time and energy serves as a testament to NCGA and the effectiveness of our efforts on behalf of corn farmers.”


Alverson, a former vice president of the South Dakota Corn Utilization Council currently serving on the Corn Board, grows corn and soybeans. He has also served as both secretary and treasurer of the South Dakota Corn Growers Association; chaired NCGA’s Ethanol Committee and graduated from NCGA’s Leadership Academy program in 2009.


Bush, who currently chairs NCGA’s Public Policy Action Team, has also served on that team for five years, familiarizing himself with both the process of working toward the implementation of a farm bill and the research and development necessary to approach impending legislation proactively.  At the state level, Bush has served as treasurer of the Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association.  He and his wife, Teresa, farm corn, soybeans and wheat in central Ohio.


A former president of the Iowa Corn Growers Association, Elsbernd currently serves on the NCGA Public Policy Action Team and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board.  Elsbernd and his wife, Trish, farm no-till corn and soybeans in northeast Iowa.


A current Corn Board member and board, Geske previously served as president of the Missouri Corn Growers Association, chairman of the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council and chaired NCGA’s Public Policy Action Team.  Geske farms corn, cotton, rice, soybeans and wheat with his son in the Missouri Bootheel region.


Schmalshof, a current member of NCGA’s Trade Policy and Biotechnology Action Team, has served his home state for more than a decade as a member of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board, which he chaired for a term.  Additionally, he has worked extensively promoting U.S. agriculture abroad through his activities on the executive committee of the U.S. Grains Council.  A farmer from Adair, Ill., Schmalshof farms while running trucking, seed and crop insurance businesses with his two sons and wife, former NCGA Corn Board member Theresa.


Skunes, currently chairman of the North Dakota Corn Utilization Council, serves on NCGA’s Ethanol Committee in addition to holding a number of posts in his community through his county farm bureau, church and local Lion’s Club.  Along with his wife, Betty, and two sons, Skunes grows corn and soybeans in Cass County, N.D.


The NCGA Corn Board represents the organization on all matters while directing both policy and supervising day-to-day operations. Board members represent the federation of state organizations, supervise the affairs and activities of NCGA in partnership with the chief executive officer and implement NCGA policy established by the Corn Congress. Members also act as spokesmen for the NCGA and enhance the organization’s public standing on all organizational and policy issues.


For more information on all of the candidates, click here.