JULY 2012


(Posted Wed. Jul 18th, 2012)

July 18:  Delegates attending the National Corn Growers Association’s Corn Congress in Washington this morning elected five farmers to serve on the organization’s Corn Board.  Taking office on Oct. 1, the start of NCGA’s 2013 fiscal year, are new board members Anthony Bush of Ohio, Don Elsbernd of Iowa and Kevin Skunes of North Dakota.  Current board members Keith Alverson of South Dakota and Mike Geske of Missouri were re-elected.


“Each year, we have a terrific slate of candidates for the Corn Board, growers who have already had an impressive career of volunteer service for American agriculture,” NCGA Chairman Bart Schott, who chairs the nominating committee, said. “It’s inspiring to see such an interest on the part of these growers, especially at a time when our industry faces so many challenges. They are all going to be a great addition to the board, and do great things for all farmers.”


Alverson, of Chester, S.D., is a former vice president of the South Dakota Corn Utilization Council currently serving on the Corn Board, grows corn and soybeans. He has also served as both secretary and treasurer of the South Dakota Corn Growers Association; chaired NCGA’s Ethanol Committee and graduated from NCGA’s Leadership Academy program in 2009.


Bush, of Mt. Gilead, Ohio, currently chairs NCGA’s Public Policy Action Team and has also served on that team for five years, familiarizing himself with both the process of working toward the implementation of a farm bill and the research and development necessary to approach impending legislation proactively.  At the state level, Bush has served as treasurer of the Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association.  He and his wife, Teresa, farm corn, soybeans and wheat.


A former president of the Iowa Corn Growers Association, Potsville farmer Elsbernd serves on the NCGA Public Policy Action Team and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board.  He and his wife, Trish, farm no-till corn and soybeans in northeast Iowa.


A current Corn Board member and board, Geske previously served as president of the Missouri Corn Growers Association, chairman of the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council and chaired NCGA’s Public Policy Action Team.  Geske farms corn, cotton, rice, soybeans and wheat with his son near Matthews in the Missouri Bootheel region.


Skunes, currently chairman of the North Dakota Corn Utilization Council, serves on NCGA’s Ethanol Committee in addition to holding a number of posts in his community through his county farm bureau, church and local Lion’s Club.  Along with his wife, Betty, and two sons, Skunes grows corn and soybeans in Cass County, N.D.


The NCGA Corn Board represents the organization on all matters while directing both policy and supervising day-to-day operations. Board members represent the federation of state organizations, supervise the affairs and activities of NCGA in partnership with the chief executive officer and implement NCGA policy established by the Corn Congress. Members also act as spokesmen for the NCGA and enhance the organization’s public standing on all organizational and policy issues.