JULY 2013


(Posted Wed. Jul 17th, 2013)

July 17: Delegates attending the National Corn Growers Association’s Corn Congress in Washington this morning elected five farmers to serve on the organization’s Corn Board.  Taking office on Oct. 1, the start of NCGA’s 2014 fiscal year, are new board members Kevin Ross of Iowa and Paul Taylor of Illinios.  Current board members Rob Elliott of Illinois, Jon Holzfaster of Nebraska and Wesley Spurlock of Texas were re-elected.


“Each year, we have a terrific slate of candidates for the Corn Board, growers who have already had an impressive career of volunteer service for American agriculture,” NCGA Chairman Garry Neimeyer, who chairs the nominating committee, said. “It’s inspiring to see such an interest on the part of these growers, especially at a time when our industry faces so many challenges. They are all going to be a great addition to the board, and do great things for all farmers.”


 Elliott currently co-chairs the Commodity Classic Committee for 2014 and is vice chair of the NASCAR Advisory Committee in addition to serving on the board. Previously, he served as the organizational representative to the Waterways Council. In his home state, Elliott has served as president of the Illinois Corn Growers Association. With two brothers, his 88-year-old father and a nephew, he farms corn and soybeans while running a growing seed business in Warren County, Ill.


Holzfaster, a current Corn Board member, owns and operates the same farm in southwest Nebraska that his family has for three generations. On their farm, they produce corn, popcorn, soybeans, dry edible beans, wheat and alfalfa.  Together, his family also operates a 1,000-head non-commercial feed yard that utilizes feed produced on the farm. He currently chairs the NASCAR Advisory Committee and has previously chaired NCGA’s Ethanol Committee and the Nebraska Corn Board.


Ross, a sixth-generation family farmer in southwestern Iowa, currently serves as a director of the Iowa Corn Growers Association and on NCGA’s Public Policy Action Team. Along with his wife, Sara, he grows corn, soybeans, alfalfa and runs a cow/calf operation. In addition to his past presidency of the Iowa Corn Growers Association, Ross previously served as chair of the Iowa AgState Initiative and on NCGA’s Ethanol Committee.


Current Corn Board member Spurlock is running for reelection this year also. Spurlock chairs NCGA’s Finance Committee and sits on the board of both the Texas Corn Producers Board and Corn Producers Association of Texas in addition to farming and managing 9,600 acres of irrigated corn, cotton, wheat and grain sorghum in the upper Texas panhandle.  


Having already served as president of the Illinois Corn Growers Association and the Wisconsin Soybean Growers Association, Taylor now acts as vice chair on NCGA’s Ethanol Committee. On land that has been in his family for more than 100 years, he raises corn, seed corn, food grade non-GMO soybeans and canning vegetables for Del Monte including sweet corn, lima beans and green peas. While he no longer raises livestock personally, he continues to value that component of our agricultural system.


The NCGA Corn Board represents the organization on all matters while directing both policy and supervising day-to-day operations. Board members represent the federation of state organizations, supervise the affairs and activities of NCGA in partnership with the chief executive officer and implement NCGA policy established by the Corn Congress. Members also act as spokesmen for the NCGA and enhance the organization’s public standing on all organizational and policy issues.