MAY 2015


(Posted Fri. May 1st, 2015)

Last week, a bipartisan group of 37 senators sent a letter to EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy, asking her to keep the 2014 Renewable Fuel Standard blending requirements in line with the original law passed by Congress.


“The RFS has already proven to be an effective driver of alternative fuels and economic development,” the senators wrote. “It has strengthened agriculture markets and created hundreds of thousands of jobs. … Setting strong biofuels volume requirements for 2014 and beyond will ensure this progress continues.”


Senators Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Amy Kolbuchar (D-Minn.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Thune (R-S.D.), Al Franken (D-Minn.) and Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) led the effort.


“We applaud these 37 senators for their leadership to move America’s energy future forward,” said NCGA President Chip Bowling. “We are encouraged to see broad, bipartisan support for the Renewable Fuel Standard. We agree with the Senators that the RFS has been a highly successful policy, reducing our dependence of foreign oil, lowering the price of gasoline, and reducing greenhouse gas emissions.”


The following senators signed the letter: Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Dan Coats (R-Ind.), Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) Amy Kolbuchar (D-Minn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Mike Rounds (S-S.D.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).