JULY 2015


(Posted Wed. Jul 15th, 2015)

Delegates attending the National Corn Growers Association’s Corn Congress in Washington this morning elected five farmers to serve on the organization’s Corn Board.  Taking office on Oct. 1, the start of NCGA’s 2016 fiscal year, are new board members Jim Reed of Illinois, Bruce Rohwer of Iowa and Jeff Sandborn of Michigan. Current board members Keith Alverson of South Dakota and Anthony Bush of Ohio were re-elected.


“Again this year, we had an impressive slate of candidates for the Corn Board, growers who already have an extensive history of service to American agriculture,” NCGA Chairman Martin Barbre, who chairs the nominating committee, said. “It inspires me to see such an interest on the part of these growers, particularly at this time when our industry faces so many challenges. I am certain they will be a valuable addition to the board and look forward to see what they do for corn farmers I the years to come.”


A 2009 graduate of NCGA’s Leadership Academy, Alverson is now in his second term on the Corn Board.  Currently, he serves as the board liaison to the Ethanol Committee, which he previously chaired, and represents NCGA on the Field to Market Sustainability Initiative. Previously, he served as board liaison to the Production and Stewardship Action Team and on the Finance Committee.


Also a current Corn Board member, Bush chairs the Finance Committee. Previously, he has served as board liaison to the Public Policy Action Team, which he has previously chaired. Bush also has served as vice president of the Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association. He is also a graduate of NCGA’s Advanced Leadership Academy, which is co-sponsored by Syngenta.


Newly elected to the Corn Board, Reed currently chairs the NCGA Public Policy Action Team. He previously chaired NCGA’s CornPAC and was a member of its Grassroots Committee and Grower Services Action Team. At the state level, he is a past president of the Illinois Corn Growers Association and former chair of the ICGA Industrial Committee.


Rohwer currently serves as the custodian of records and secretary for the NCGA CornPAC and as a member of the NCGA Research and Business Development Action Team and the U.S. Grain Council’s Middle East and Africa Action Team. At the state level, he is chair and past president of the Iowa Corn Growers Association and chair of the ICGA CornPAC.


Also new to the Corn Board, Sandborn currently chairs NCGA’s Ethanol Committee and the Michigan Corn Growers Association. A graduate of Leadership At its Best and NCGA’s Advanced Leadership Academy, he is a past chair of the Michigan Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Committee.


The NCGA Corn Board represents the organization on all matters while directing both policy and supervising day-to-day operations. Board members represent the federation of state organizations, supervise the affairs and activities of NCGA in partnership with the chief executive officer and implement NCGA policy established by the Corn Congress. Members also act as spokesmen for the NCGA and enhance the organization’s public standing on all organizational and policy issues.