JULY 2016


(Posted Wed. Jul 20th, 2016)

Delegates attending the National Corn Growers Association’s Corn Congress in Washington this morning elected five farmers to serve on the organization’s Corn Board.  Taking office on Oct. 1, the start of NCGA’s 2017 fiscal year, are new board members Chris Edgington of Iowa, Don Glenn of Alabama, Tom Haag of Minnesota and John Linder of Ohio. Current board member Kevin Ross of Iowa was re-elected.


“Again this year, we had an impressive slate of candidates for the Corn Board, growers who already have an extensive history of service to American agriculture,” NCGA Chairman Martin Barbre, who chairs the nominating committee, said. “It inspires me to see such an interest on the part of these growers, particularly at this time when our industry faces so many challenges. I am certain they will be a valuable addition to the board and look forward to see what they do for corn farmers I the years to come.”


Edgington currently serves on NCGA’s Trade Policy and Biotechnology Action in addition to chairing the Iowa Corn Promotion Board. At the state level, he is also president of Rural Development Partners and a member of the board of directors of Ag Ventures Alliance. He previously co-chaired Corn Vision 2020 and chaired Golden Oval Eggs.


Also new to the Corn Board, Glenn has chaired NCGA’s Production and Stewardship Action Team and Mycotoxin Task Force in addition to having served on the Ethanol Committee. At the state level, he is a past president of the Alabama Soybean and Corn Association


A 2016 graduate of the Advanced Leadership Program, Haag currently serves on NCGA’s Research and Business Development Action Team and has previously chaired the Grower Services Action Team. A past president of the Minnesota Corn Growers Association, he serves as an appointee to the Minnesota Trade Advisory Council.


Another new Corn Board member, Linder chairs the NCGA Trade Policy and Biotechnology Action Team. He has previously chaired the Ohio Corn Marketing Program and as a member of the Ag Credit Co-op Board of Directors.


A current Corn Board member, Ross serves as the board liaison to the Trade Policy and Biotechnology Action Team and as the 2017 Commodity Classic Joint Venture Committee Co-chair. He previously chaired the Finance Committee. At the state level, he is a past president of the Iowa Corn Growers Association.


The NCGA Corn Board represents the organization on all matters while directing both policy and supervising day-to-day operations. Board members represent the federation of state organizations, supervise the affairs and activities of NCGA in partnership with the chief executive officer and implement NCGA policy established by the Corn Congress. Members also act as spokesmen for the NCGA and enhance the organization’s public standing on all organizational and policy issues.