(Posted Fri. Sep 23rd, 2016)

The National Corn Growers Association announced the slate of new and returning farmer leaders who will serve their industry as members of the action teams and committees in the next fiscal year, which begins Thursday, October 1. These volunteer farmers will actively shape the future of their industry by guiding programs and carrying out the policies and priorities that guide NCGA.


“The year ahead will certainly offer many challenges and opportunities, but I am certain that the teams we have assembled will be both capable and wise in their leadership,” said NCGA President Chip Bowling, a corn farmer from Maryland. “As we refocus the organization in a way that will better serve the strategic plan, these men and women will provide excellent insight that will help guide us into a bright future for agriculture. Again, we enjoyed an incredible slate of candidates and strongly urge all interested to continue serving their state organizations and also look to serve NCGA in the future.”


Leadership for NCGA’s eight major teams are:


  • Consumer Engagement Action Team: Patty Mann, chair; Ted Mottaz, vice chair; Tom Haag, board liaison.
  • Corn Productivity & Quality Action Team: Larry Hoffman, chair; Dennis Maple, vice chair; Bob Bowman, board liaison.
  • Ethanol Action Team: Paul Jeschke, chair; Mark Recker, vice chair; Lynn Chrisp, board liaison.
  • Feed, Food & Industrial Action Team: Bob Hemesath, chair; Bruce Peterson, vice chair; Kevin Ross, board liaison.
  • Freedom to Operate Action Team: Don Duvall, chair; Brandon Hunnicutt, vice chair; Chris Edgington, board liaison.
  • Market Access Action Team: Ken Hartman, chair; Jay Reiners, vice chair; Don Glenn, board liaison.
  • Risk Management Action Team: Steve Ebke, chair; Sarah Delbecq, vice chair; Bruce Rohwer, board liaison.
  • Stewardship Action Team: Brent Hostetler, chair; Roger Zylstra, vice chair; Keith Alverson, board liaison.


Click here for a full list of teams and members. The action teams and committees will have their first set of meetings in St. Louis in December.