(Posted Wed. Jun 4th, 2014)

The National Corn Growers Association today launched the second year of the Good Steward Recognition Program to expand awareness of best practices in sustainable corn production. The program, which demonstrates the economic and conservation value of soil management, is now accepting nominations.


“Success stories abound in agriculture in the areas of precision application and timing of inputs, improved seeds and large advancements in tillage and other practices, “said Don Glenn, chairman of NCGA’s Production and Stewardship Action Team Chair. “However, some of these successes remain untold. This program helps spread this incredible message. “


NCGA highlights an innovative grower who demonstrates that there is no trade-off between production and stewardship through this program thus increasing attention paid to the sound science behind sustainable yield growth. One award recipient will be selected from a field of nominees submitted by NCGA state affiliates and other corn industry and organizational partners.


Nominees must demonstrate superior commitment to sustainability through the application of best management practices and innovation, have a history in adopting technological advancements, exhibit effective communication skills and work with farm data such as farm level mapping software, GPS guidance systems and yield monitoring.


Required criteria for nomination:

  • NCGA member in good standing
  • In compliance with FSA/NRCS HEL and wetland provisions
  • Implements conservation tillage practices of no-till or strip-till
  • Demonstrates agricultural innovation
  • Possesses excellent communication and networking skills

Best management demonstration includes:

  • Irrigation (if applicable)
  • Cover crops
  • Soil erosion control
  • Nutrient management
  • Water quality


Nominations will be processed through NCGA.  Submission forms are available at Selection of the Good Steward Recognition winner will be made by experts in the field of agricultural conservation, environment and sustainability.  Nominations are due 5 p.m. Central Time August 15, 2014. The announcement of the award recipient will be made at 2015 Commodity Classic in Phoenix, Arizona, in February 2015.