Scholarship Programs

Osler Ortez, Kayla Beechinor, Catherine Jones, Amber Oerly, Krista Russell, Dennis Maple (Corn Board Member from Indiana)


Three Scholarships. Endless Opportunities.

The grower-members who make up the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) are committed to broadening educational opportunities and open doors to students who are passionate to serve rural America and keep their family farms thriving.  In 2019, we have expanded our scholarship offerings for three distinct audiences:


  • Technical School/Community College Students;
  • Undergraduate Students;
  • Graduate Students


While the applications for the three scholarships may be different, the basic eligibility requirements remain the same for all our programs:


  • Applicant must be an NCGA member or son/daughter of an NCGA member.
  • Applications must be submitted by December 4, 2020, Central Time.
  • Scholarships are for one year. Previous recipients may not apply.


NOTE: Each scholarship may have additional requirements


To become a member of NCGA, click here.

Technical School/Community College Scholarship Program

For rural America to remain strong and vibrant, it needs a diverse workforce. Farmers need highly skilled workers, trained in the latest technology, to ensure that their farm operation runs smoothly.   Whether your educational pursuits are agricultural, mechanical, construction, engineering, or aviation-related, we want to help further your training.   NCGA will provide five $1,000 scholarships to students pursuing a degree at a technical school.   Eligibility Requirements Applicant must be an NCGA member or son/daughter of an NCGA member.  The application must be submitted by December 4, 2020, by 11:59 Central Time. Scholarships are for one year. Previous recipients may not apply.   Application Packet Must Contain: Complete online application Three letters of recommendation (at least two must be from non-family members, and at least one should be from a faculty member.) Current resume 500-word essay OR Link to a 2-3-minute YouTube...

Learn More
NCGA William C. Berg Academic Excellence

Undergraduate Scholarship in Agriculture

The National Corn Growers Association and BASF Corporation will award five $1,500 scholarships to undergraduate students pursuing a degree in any field.    BASF is creating a program to bring the scholarship winners to one of their facilities and meet with their key staff. BASF will contact the scholarship winners in early 2020 with those program details.   Eligibility Requirements Applicant must be entering at least his/her second undergraduate year at an accredited college or university. Applicant must be an NCGA member or son/daughter of an NCGA member. Employees and the families of employees of NCGA or any division of BASF or their subsidiaries are not eligible for the scholarship. Applications must be submitted by December 4, 2020. Scholarships are for one year. Previous recipients may not apply.   Application Packet Must Include: Completed application Current transcript from junior college, college or university Three...

Learn More
Graduate Student Scholarship

NCGA understands the role of research and scientific discovery in production agriculture. We are proud to recognize the hard work and contributions of today’s graduate students who are working in the critical areas of Digital/Precision Ag, Germplasm/Breeding, Agronomy, Crop Protection and Sustainability.   To recognize their efforts, we will award one $2,500 scholarship to a graduate student who who’s area of study will benefit the corn sector. The 2020 winner will attend the Corn Utilization and Technology Conference (CUTC) June 7 – 9, 2020 in St. Louis, Missouri.   Increasingly recognized as an important industry networking event, CUTC offers attendees the chance to meet hundreds of key contacts across the corn value chain and learn how new technologies will enhance the value of corn: n new presentations on new starch uses, resistant starch and nutrition, biopolymers and higher valued products such as nutraceuticals. The Gary Lamie Graduate Student Poster Competition will...

Learn More
Past BASF Winners

2018-2019 Kayla Beechinor (WA) Washington State – Ag Biotech & Field Crop Management   Catherine Jones (NE) University of Nebraska – Ag & Environmental Science Communications   Amber Oerly (MI) Northeastern Oklahoma A&M – Ag Business   Krista Russell (IL) Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, Environmental Science   Osler Ortez (NE) University of Nebraska – Agronomy & Horticulture   2017-2018 Santiago Tamagno (KS) Kansas State – Agronomy   Samantha Teten (NE) University of Nebraska – Agronomy   Nicole Gutzmann (CA) North Carolina State – Entomology   Emily Kreinbrink (OH) Ohio State – Food Science & Technology   Stephen Schwartz (IN) Purdue - Agronomy   2016-2017 Kelsey Barnes (TN), Texas A&M, International Ag   Izak Christensen (IA), Iowa State, Ag Business and Agronomy   Rodrigo Mendoza, (NE), University of Nebraska, Food Science & Technology   Rachel Stevens (NE), University of Nebraska, Mechanized Systems Management   Michael Tupper, (IA),...

Learn More