Nominations for NCGA’s Good Steward Recognition Program Open Today

May 12, 2017

Nominations for NCGA’s Good Steward Recognition Program Open Today

May 12, 2017

Do you have a farmer friend, neighbor or family member who always does their job with a keen eye on improving the productivity of the soil and the viability of the farm for future generations? The National Corn Growers Association thinks their special too, and we want to meet them. Furthermore, we want to put them in the spotlight and reward them for their stewardship.


The fifth year of the NCGA’s Good Steward Recognition Program launches today and we need your help to expand awareness of best practices in sustainable corn production. Let’s face it, most farmers today understand that clean water and healthy soil can and should go hand-in-hand with profitability, and farming practices are changing rapidly to accelerate sustainability goals.

If you know someone who is doing a stellar job on their farm of demonstrating the economic and conservation value of soil management, it’s time to toss their hat in the ring.


NCGA affiliate states and organizational partners may submit one or more nominations. One recipient will be selected from a field of nominees submitted by NCGA state affiliates and other corn industry and organizational partners.


Nomination forms must be completed jointly by the nominating organization and the nominee, and will be processed through NCGA. Selection of the Good Steward Recognition will be made by experts in the field of agricultural conservation, environment and sustainability.  Nominations are due 5:00 p.m. CDT July 31, 2017. The announcement of the recipient will be made at Commodity Classic in Anaheim, California, February 27-March 1, 2018. If you have any questions, contact Rachel Orf at NCGA, (636) 733-9004.



Frequently Asked Questions


What will the Good Steward Recognition recipient receive?


Who can be nominated for the Good Steward Recognition?

Nominees that can demonstrate:

  • Good standing as an NCGA member
  • Compliance with FSA/NRCS HEL and wetland and sodbuster provisions
  • History of conservation tillage practices of no-till or strip-till
  • Agricultural innovation
  • Excellent communication and networking skills


What kind of criteria is needed?

Nominees must demonstrate best management practices in:

  • Irrigation (if applicable)
  • Cover crops
  • Soil erosion control
  • Nutrient management
  • Water quality