NCGA Thanks House Democrats for Renewable Fuel Standard Support

June 21, 2018

NCGA Thanks House Democrats for Renewable Fuel Standard Support

Jun 21, 2018

Key Issues:Ethanol

The National Corn Growers Association commends House lawmakers who serve on the House Energy and Commerce Committee and the House Agriculture Committee for asking EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt to stop manipulating the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) by granting small refinery exemptions to refiners who are making millions of dollars in profits.


Yesterday, these lawmakers submitted a letter to Administrator Pruitt asking him to provide more information and transparency about RFS exemptions granted and the process for granting those exemptions, calling on him to be more transparent and to stop undercutting the renewable fuels market. They pointed out that taking this action is “inflicting further economic pain in rural communities and throughout the agriculture sector.”


The 12 Representatives who signed on to the letter include: Dave Loebsack – Iowa, Cheri Bustos – Illinois, Paul Tonko – New York, Collin Peterson – Minnesota, Bobby Rush – Illinois, Ann McLane Kuster – New Hampshire, Diana DeGette - Colorado, Tim Walz – Minnesota, Scott Peters - California, Richard Nolan - Minnesota, John Sarbanes - Maryland, and Tom O’Halleran – Arizona.


You can read the letter here.