Kelly Nieuwenhuis

Corn Board Member   Primghar, Iowa

Kelly Nieuwenhuis of Primghar, Iowa, serves as a member of the Corn Board of the National Corn Growers Association, a farmer-led trade association with offices in St. Louis and Washington.


Nieuwenhuis is a third-generation family farmer in northwest Iowa, where he grows corn and soybeans in cooperation with two of his brothers, operates a Channel seed dealership and finishes about 10,000 hogs per year in partnership with his neighbors. His family includes his wife, Luanne, four adult children, their spouses and two granddaughters.


At the national level, Nieuwenhuis serves as Corn Board Liaison to the BNSF Railway Ag Business Council. Previously, he chaired the Ethanol Action Team. He was recognized for his contributions to biofuels with the America’s Fuel Award from Growth Energy in 2023.


At the state level, Nieuwenhuis is a past president of the Iowa Corn Promotion Board. He has also served on the Iowa Renewable Fuels Infrastructure Board since his appointment in 2016 and is a past president of the Siouxland Energy Cooperative Board of Directors, a farmer-owned ethanol producer.


Founded in 1957, the National Corn Growers Association represents more than 40,000 dues-paying corn growers and the interests of more than 300,000 farmers who contribute through corn checkoff programs in their states. NCGA and its 50 affiliated state associations and checkoff organizations work together to help protect and advance corn growers’ interests.