National Corn Yield Contest 2023 Winners Announced

December 13, 2023

National Corn Yield Contest 2023 Winners Announced

Dec 13, 2023


Author: Stacey Stiens

The National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) is excited to announce the winners of the 2023 National Corn Yield Contest. This group of farmers put up some impressive yields and proved, once again, the ingenuity and resiliency of the U.S. farmer.  


In its 59th year, the National Corn Yield Contest saw nearly 7,000 entries from farmers in 46 states. Entrants across the 10 production categories, including the pilot category for nitrogen management, Class J, had verified yields averaging 269 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 173 bushels per acre. This includes a new national record yield of 623.8439 bushels per acre from David Hula in Charles City, VA, besting the previous record of 616.1953 bushels per acre.  


“Year after year, the National Corn Yield Contest remains the most popular program for NCGA members,” said Harold Wolle, president of the National Corn Growers Association. “It is an opportunity for farmers across the country to put their skills to the test and show the true craftmanship it takes to grow a successful corn crop, and the agronomic data generated by the contest each year helps provide valuable information for future success.”  


The 27 national, 526 state, and 3 Class J winners will be honored by NCGA at Commodity Classic in Houston, TX, February 28 – March 2, 2024.  


A complete list of the 2023 National and State winners can be found at