Eight Selected for NCGA’s Research Ambassador Program

September 29, 2022

Eight Selected for NCGA’s Research Ambassador Program

Sep 29, 2022

Key Issues:Research

Author: Stacey Stiens

The National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) is pleased to announce that eight Research Ambassadors have been selected for 2022-2023 academic year:


  • Julian Cooper, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities  
  • Brendan Hanson, Purdue University  
  • Kirsten Hein, Colorado State University  
  • John Searl, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Aimee Schulz, Cornell University
  • Seth Tolley, Purdue University
  • Rachel Veenstra, Kansas State University
  • Brandon Webster, Michigan State University


Just in its second year, the program is continuing to build great momentum. Developed and funded by NCGA’s Sustainable Ag Research Action Team, the objective is to build a network of future leaders in the agricultural sector; ambassadors must demonstrate academic excellence, leadership potential, and be involved in research relevant to corn production.


“The first year of the Research Ambassador Program was even more successful than we imagined it would be,” said NCGA Sustainable Ag Research Action Team Chair and Nebraska grower Jason Lewis.  “And I have no doubt that the same will be true with the next round of ambassadors. We will continue to build a stronger bridge between the research lab and the farm field; and our growers are equally enthusiastic for these dynamic opportunities to engage with the graduate students.”


Through the program, each NCGA Research Ambassador will receive the following:


  1. Financial award of $2,500 directly to the student.
  2. Up to $750 for registration and travel reimbursement for participation in scientific research conferences.
  3. Fully-funded travel to participate in NCGA events throughout the year, which could include grower research committee meetings, congressional visits at the state or federal level, Commodity Classic, Corn Congress, farm field days, etc.

To learn more, visit NCGA Research Ambassador Program.